My Black is Beautiful


Poem:

My Black is Beautiful

From the color of my skin, to the texture of my hair, to the length of my strands, to the breadth of my smile,

To the stride of my gait, to the span of my arms, to the depth of my bosom, to the curve of my hips, to the glow of my skin,
My Black is Beautiful.

It cannot be denied. It will not be contained. And only I will define it.

For when I look in my mirror, my very soul cries out,
My Black is Beautiful.

And so today, I speak it out loud, unabashedly, I declare it anew,
My Black is Beautiful.

Whether celebrated, imitated, exploited or denigrated. Whether natural from inside or skillfully applied,
My Black is Beautiful.

To my daughters, my sisters, my nieces, my cousins, my colleagues and my friends,
I speak for us all when I say again,

My Black is Beautiful.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
visit: The My Black is Beautiful Website
http://www.myblackisbeautiful.com/
win1
Be confident in the skin your in. No matter your shape, or height you are beautiful! Fearfully and Wonderfully made. Now begin to live, love and walk that way.

By Andria Thompson Posted in Beauty

11 comments on “My Black is Beautiful

  1. God asked me how long I plan 2 keep you in my life. I smiled and asked him, how do I choose between always and forever? You are not only a inspiration but a blessing 2 me and many other young women in Christ.To God be the Glory!!!!

  2. I personally believe this specific blog , “My Black is Beautiful | AndriaThompson.
    com”, pretty engaging plus the blog post ended
    up being a great read. Regards-Boyd

  3. hi my name is spring and i love this so much im dark skined and peopeat school say im ugly but i jtu say my black id beautiful thanks andria

  4. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do think that you ought to write more on this subject, it may
    not be a taboo matter but usually folks don’t discuss these topics.

    To the next! Cheers!!

  5. Hi Andria!
    I love your poem!
    I have a question, can I borrow it for a theatreproject?

    Melissa

Leave a Reply

